My Top 5 Most Anticipated Books of 2015

(And yes, I realize it’s practically April. Better late than never, right?)

Let’s jump in.

  1. The Invasion of the Tearling by Erika Johansen: June 9

Picking up where its predecessor left off, The Invasion of the Tearling follows the story of new Queen Kelsea Raleigh Glynn and her attempts to rule, lead, and protect her fellow Tear-folk from the evil Red Queen (although, by the sound of that title, it seems Queen Kelsea isn’t all that successful, but that’s a classic book 2 in a trilogy for you). Fans of The Queen’s Thief Series, The Lumatere Chronicles, and The Chronicles of Prydain will naturally fall in love with the people of the Tearling. Bonus points: A film adaptation of book 1, The Queen of the Tearling has been announced with Emma Watson playing the lead.

  1. Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee: July 14

Unless you’ve unplugged from all technology for the last several months, this book will need no introduction. The highly anticipated second novel by the illustrious Harper Lee follows our favorite truth-speaker, Scout Finch, into adulthood. Much controversy and speculation surrounds this book. And while the circumstances are certainly unorthodox, until someone can tell me for a fact that Ms. Lee would not like me to read her book, I’m going to read it. Fans of Lee’s first novel, To Kill a Mockingbird, will either love or hate or avoid this book. I’m confident these are the only options.

  1. Truest by Jackie Lea Sommers: September 1

Debut author Jackie Lea Sommers has promised us a whirlwind, small-town adventure full of love and mystery, and I’m positive she can deliver. Sommers has been kind enough to share her writing and publication journey on her website, which makes me want to read Truest even more. From what I know of Sommers, fans of The Fault in Our Stars, Eleanor and Park, and Saving Francesca will deeply enjoy this next big hit. Bonus points: I know Jackie, and she’s a cool and kind human being (and no, I’m not being paid to like her or her book).

  1. The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater: September 29

Once again, Maggie Stiefvater has created one of the most unique, inspiring, and downright creative stories of our time. Book 4 of 4, The Raven King will conclude the harrowing tales of tough and wonderful Blue and her assortment of daring Raven Boys. Books 1-3 have strolled through living forests and underground caves, through love and loss, and book 4 will lead to the gates of fate and choice. What awaits can only be glory or grief or both. I’m rooting for glory. Fans of Harry Potter, The Daughter of Smoke and Bone Trilogy, and The Night Circus will wish that they, too, could search for Glendower.

  1. Winter by Marissa Meyer: November 10

Spaceships, cyborgs, and unyielding charm this futuristic fairy tale has it all. The end of earth as they know it is near, and Cinder and her posy of badass heroines and charismatic gents must go to Luna to stop the evil Queen Levana from destroying all they hold dear. In the spirit of her first 3 books, Meyer has loosely modeled book 4 of 4 after another well-loved story, Snow White. This 800-page finale will (hopefully) wrap up all four story lines, involve saving the world, and have enough time for happily-ever-after kisses. Fans of The Percy Jackson Series, Ella Enchanted, and the Under the Never Sky Series will wish for only the brightest and most satisfying “The End.”

There are only good things ahead, friends.

Cheers,

Kaleigh

Advertisements

One thought on “My Top 5 Most Anticipated Books of 2015

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s